I don’t think this was what they had in mind

Alex is taking AP US History. It’s a demanding class, requiring all she can muster of her analytical writing skills. Her teacher won’t settle for memorizing the facts, but understanding how the Puritans and the Anglicans and those feisty Jamestonians have influenced the American character. I can’t keep all of the “onians” straight, but our nightly discussions have reminded me that our country was based on religious freedom and tolerance. The right to pray. Or not. The right to choose our own God.

This hate, which may be driven by a few, but is fueled by the media, both left and right, confuses me. While I understand, and appreciate, that we all feel differently, I don’t understand how anyone thinks hate will help heal our world.

Today I joined a Facebook Cause “Solidarity with Peaceful Islam”. I saw an invitation from my friend Jonathan Lewis, the person who introduced me, and many others, to Freedom from Hunger. I committed to an act of peace and love on September 11. I sent invitations to my friends. I took a risk…

Here are the positions:

  1. Do something to show your solidarity with Muslims on 9/11.
  2. Stand up against those who would paint every Muslim as bad.
  3. Promote reasoned debate.

I am taking a stand for love and tolerance. Because I am pretty sure that IS what our founding fathers and mothers had in mind.

This entry was posted in Just Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

