muddy buddies

So, while Steve and Alex were backpacking, I was putzing around the lake, and plopped myself back down at Sugar Pine Point State Park for about 5 hours. I watched the clouds come in, and worried some as the rain started. Luckily for me, I had miscalculated where they were, so I mistakenly thought their peak was in the clear….not like the peak behind me that was in the center of the storm. I was wrong, of course. They had rain and hail and lots of wind. But they came out happy and tired and already talking about the next hike. Instead of waiting for them at the trailhead, I hiked part way up and enjoyed the view for a few moments until they came around the corner.

Their photos:

They said this was before the pain set in…

Homework in the tent…this doesn’t look like that much fun.

The significant thing that happened is that they exchanged bucket lists, and discovered that they both had a really big mountain on it. The one in Africa, that starts with a K. Alex has had this on her list since she was ten, and I had no idea. However, I am not at all surprised.

More pix from the lake tomorrow.

About kim tackett

Northern CA marketing consultant, writer of very small stories, and drinker of very strong coffee.
This entry was posted in Just Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

