vintage, who…me?

Yesterday Steve got pretty sick and it required a trip to the doctor and the hospital for some diagnostic xrays. We saw a doctor who was new to us, and she called Steve “sir”.  She was clearly 20 years younger (and very competent, I will add). At the hospital he got lightheaded and they delivered an old guy in a wheelchair to me. He’s doing better today, but I think this means we’re….aging.

But there’s hope. While I was waiting for Steve I checked my Facebook on my iPhone and my mom friended me. Grandma Jan is on Facebook. Just let that sentence sink in for a moment. Even if you don’t know my mom (though if you read this blog, you kind of do), replace her name with your mom’s name and imagine those words.

My mother, curious and interested in everything. She has her art school grandson show her how to use Facebook, so she can keep up with his art, keep up with her friends, and keep up with technology. How does it work that as I get older, she gets younger?

I guess it doesn’t matter, as long as she is what I have to look forward to.

This entry was posted in Just Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to vintage, who…me?

  1. pam says:

    I’ll top that. My mom has MORE friends on Facebook than I do.

  2. Ann says:

    My best to Steve for a speedy recovery. It’s the pits when our bodies give way.

    I love FB for the same reasons as your mom. Can’t wait till my grand children start using it. Right now lots of nieces and nephews scattered around is who I keep up with. Lots of fun and also a great way to keep up on things of interest.

  3. LisaF says:

    How funny. My mom has a facebook page as of last week too! Over the phone I tried to talk her through how to put up a profile pic. Picture a Mac-brain trying to convey computer processes to a 76-year old PC-brain, almost deaf woman. In the end, we were successful in getting a photo to replace the lovely silhouette and she even wrote on my wall! Blew her mind when I introduced the “chat” feature. I may have created a monster. 🙂

  4. LisaF says:

    Oh, and the most important comment….I wish Steve a fast recovery and no more vertigo episodes. Aging? Naw!

Leave a Reply

