waffles and quinoa

No big story. I just wanted to see those two words together. In fact, they look so silly, I could stop right here and be happy. But you know I won’t.

I HAVE been working on my waffle-making skills, with a modicum of success. Brendan’s dad, Robert (whom Kate claims makes The Best Waffles In The World), sent me his recipe. It was better than my first attempt, though for a non baker, the inclusion of yeast was confusing. I bought Active Yeast (disregarding the Rapid Rise Yeast, which I knew would be wrong), but the recipe called for Live Yeast. I googled both and reviews were mixed. Some folks said they were the same, so I chose to believe them. But I suspect I was to actually activate the active yeast. They were a fine Sunday morning activity and the fresh blackberries and Fage yogurt helped. Toby liked his portion. Also wondering if it could be my $7.00 waffle maker. It’s cute, but perhaps not of superior quality. Just saying.

In other culinary news, I have discovered quinoa, the grain with the most fun name since couscous. It is fast, pretty, can be mixed with anything, and has protein in it. I think it’s going to change my life. Maybe not goat cheese or homemade hummus change my life, but certainly menu-refreshing change. And for bonus points, I got it right the first time. Last night I cooked red quinoa, added some fresh corn right off the cob, red onion and garlic, and some cumin and red pepper. I am pretty sure if I toss in a few baby tomatoes, it’s going to make the loveliest summer salad today. I’m inappropriately and out of proportionally thrilled by this.

So there you have it, Tuesday’s non story with breakfast and lunch tossed in.

This entry was posted in Just Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to waffles and quinoa

  1. pam says:

    I love quinoa, I use it in place of pasta or rice all the time!

Leave a Reply

