a gently used weekend (sorry, they were out of pithy headlines at the blogging store today)

The weekend starts at noon today. Taking Alex and her BFF to Berkeley for back-to-school shopping. For some reason I raised two daughters who seem to be allergic to shopping malls (though Alex has moments of being able to enjoy the experience, especially if shoes or jackets are involved). In fact, when we enter a mall (which does happen occasionally because that’s where the Apple store lives), it is only a matter of seconds before one of us says “wow, I can feel the air being sucked right out of me.” Oh, you say that was my voice?

Anyway, we’re headed to the thrift stores on Telegraph Avenue. Alex has long been a fan of the SPCA store here in town, but this is her first big thrift store trip. Oh, we need Kate today.

Tomorrow morning Alex and her friends embark on their third Relay for Life…24 hours of walking to raise money for the American Cancer Society. Team Awesome is awesome beyond words…so there will be pictures on Monday.

It was a long week. I started out wobbly, gained my momentum, got pushed around, stayed my course, and made it through intact, resolved and grateful. I also made it through my mammogram, and it is always entertaining to see my boobs impersonating pancakes (sorry guys).

Let the shopping begin!

This entry was posted in Just Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

