and this is where she sat in the clouds

Twenty years ago she was two. And she needed a tea table. And a table for coloring and playdough making, and, well, everything kids do. So Steve painted Kate a table and chair set (and a fabulous foot stool, and a room with grass taller than she was, but that’s another post) and it was part of our every day until Alex was about 8. Its been in our garage and we have been hesitant to let it go. Finally I told Steve that if he ever had grandchildren, he would probably want to paint a new table. So we walked it down the street tonight and gave it to the neighbor girls. They are a year apart, just like Kate and Margot. They were wearing tutus and playing in the dirt and with sidewalk chalk. I sure hope they keep the table outside, perhaps as a lemonade stand. That way I can still peek at the clouds.



This entry was posted in Just Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to and this is where she sat in the clouds

  1. anniespickns says:

    I don’t know if I could have given it away. Just seeing the picture of the chair stirred up lots of images of Kate playing around and on it. It all brought to mind the books, bike and some toys that belonged to Franklin that I still have. It has been a joy to see my grandsons playing with things their “dad” had as a child and enjoying them all over again.

  2. andrea says:

    That is so sweet, and I love the chair, and I know the neighbor girls will enjoy it as much as your girls did!

  3. happytheman says:

    in the words of JT. “I reckon i be just and old softie….. great story Kim.

  4. leslie says:

    This reminds me of when Alex was a Ballerina Cowboy for Halloween. . . . man she was fun to babysit.

Leave a Reply

