end of summer, coming soon to a life near you

Not really, but I can see it.

Today Alex comes home after her month away, working at camp.  Last night I heard myself saying “Alex and I are exactly the same in that way,” and I realized that was the first time those words have ever come out of my mouth (Kate, that’s another story….we are alike in most every way, except she’s more mature than I am).

Maybe it has to do with the fact that our triple digit days have been limited. Or that I haven’t been stressing over a big vacation (as one of the self-employed, vacations…which I love…come without vacation pay, or without anyone making money while you’re frolicking). But something is different this year, just a little slower and a little more relaxing.

One more month of long days and lazy evenings. Quiet mornings.  Tomatoes (yes, I know it’s a running theme),  peaches and sweet corn. Flip flops as work attire. Trips to The Lake.  Tangerine popsicles and apricot crisps.  And then we punctuate the month with a birthday, one that signals that perhaps it’s time for me to reconsider that maturity thing.

Happy Friday.

About kim tackett

Northern CA marketing consultant, writer of very small stories, and drinker of very strong coffee.
This entry was posted in Just Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

