sweating now

My dislike of exercise is well documented. That line, “just find something that you love to do, and it won’t seem like exercise” doesn’t really work for me. There are somethings I dislike less than others….bike riding (I can pretend it’s just a more efficient way to get to work), the Running for Women group (I could pretend it was “chatting with women” with some running thrown), skiing (ok, I like everything about skiing except for that one time I fell off the lift), and walking (one year I walked 1000 miles).

Steve, on the other hand, believes exercise is fundamental to his mental and physical health. I don’t know where he got that idea. He actually seeks out opportunities to exercise. We do some activities together, but the real workouts have always been done separately. Alex is his workout partner, and I keep the couch warm (someone has to).

I’ve joined multiple gyms and had personal trainers (hi Nancy!).  Last year I did this really weird thing that I didn’t even want to blog about. I joined  a women’s gym… the one I referred to as “Cringe”. They offer a 30 minute circuit (30 seconds at each station), all the Abba music you could want, and women of all shapes and sizes. I met some nice women, they were kind to me, and they played the “Women Who Rock” CD whenever I requested it. But it was on the other side of town, and it wasn’t easy to get to. I couldn’t wear my favorite “This Mama is for Obama” t shirt (it is a very, very conservative place). It felt like a faux workout. And I didn’t sweat.

I did it for a year, almost 100 workouts.

And then I had to change. Last week I realized going to the gym could be a family activity and I joined the one Steve and Alex go to. It’s five minutes away. Steve and I go together. They have TVs (yes, I know gyms have had TVs for years, I am behind the times). They have really nice equipment. I don’t think anyone would care what I wore. I work hard. And I sweat. Last night I went about ten minutes longer, and even harder than I had before. And before we left, I joined Steve for a wall sit. It was kind of romantic. Maybe not romantic romantic, but it was companionable.

Don’t tell anyone, but I think I kind of like it.

About kim tackett

Northern CA marketing consultant, writer of very small stories, and drinker of very strong coffee.
This entry was posted in Just Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to sweating now

  1. Andrea says:

    I love that you guys did a wallsit together, that is so cute 🙂 A nice gym makes ALL the difference in the world!

Leave a Reply

