the weekend that was…

Hot. I know, I know, someday I will be wishin’ for a cool 90 degrees. And I know that it’s too early to start complaining. So I did my best to embrace it. Or at least embrace the mornings and evenings. Highlights include:

  • Friday night Lychee Margaritas and Lettuce Wraps at Ket Mo Re.
  • The Scripps National Spelling Bee (though it did lack some of the drama and delight of the past two years, imo).
  • Saturday morning bike ride to the Davis Farmers Market. Cranberry scone and coffee in the shade.
  • Steve, oh Steve….he cleaned out the pile of boxes that has been next to my desk for, well, seventeen years. This is what we call choreplay. He knew exactly what he was doing.
  • Grilled tofu and baby bok choy, along with plenty of vegies and wine, and the NCAA Women’s Softball World Series (a fan favorite).
  • A long Sunday morning Toby and Steve walk, where I confessed that I lost my favorite necklace somewhere between home and Vancouver.
  • Steve, ten minutes later, finding the favorite necklace in my purse (that would be a small purse, the one I took to Van and have used all week). I am too grateful to be humiliated.
  • Skyping Miss Kate. This girl cracks me up. Three weeks until she’s home!
  • First batch of mint iced tea. This part of summer I can handle.
  • The JV Softball Party….wine, food and fine friends. Oh, and an undefeated team of giggling girls. Berry cobbler may have been involved.

Did I mention that it was hot?

About kim tackett

Northern CA marketing consultant, writer of very small stories, and drinker of very strong coffee.
This entry was posted in Just Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

