re:read and re:new

My plan is to spend Tuesday on a plane, leaving my folk’s home, going home to the other home. And then working like heck for two days before I leave for Vancouver to visit Kate in her new home.

In the meantime, I am conjuring up the Studio’s Annual Summer Reading List. I could use a little help.

My idea this year is re:read and re:new….books that are worth a second read, and new books that are waiting to be read. Prodigal Summer by Barbara Kingsolver and Bird by Bird by Anne Lamott are on my re:read list. Omnivore’s Dilemma by Michael Pollan and Undress Me in the Temple of Heaven by Susan Jane Gilman are on my re:new list (and of course, Steve has his own list). I used to have a staff of designers who would help me keep the list a little diversified. If I don’t get help, the list will be all about 1) women traveling alone seeking love, adventure and enlightenment  (me), 2) baseball biographies (Steve).

Can you help a sister out? What book(s) do you adore so much you would read again (especially poolside or hammock reads) and what’s stacked up waiting for you and a cold one?

This entry was posted in Just Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to re:read and re:new

  1. kathleen says:

    Walter Mosley books. Start with the Easy Rawlins series. Terry Pratchett books. The discworld series.

  2. Happy says:

    let me see what’s on my list:

    At Canaan’s Edge: America in the King Years, 1965-68 by Taylor Branch
    Imperfect Birds: A Novel by Anne Lamott (We have this but not much into her Fiction)
    The Hemingses of Monticello: An American Family by Annette Gordon-Reed
    Olive Kitteridge by Elizabeth Strout

    For Steve:
    Willie’s Time: Baseball’s Golden Age by Charles Einstein

  3. Trenton says:

    Speaking of women seeking adventures, I have heard strong recommendations for Martin Gardner’s “The Annotated Alice.”

    I am sitting next to my well-worn copy of “Mountains Beyond Mountains”, a book which I’m sure you’ve read. Perhaps you could re:new your passion for fighting the good fight with Kidder’s “Strength in What Remains.”

    I would recommend “Infinite Jest” except that it’s not exactly hammock-style reading. Neither are “Cryptonomicon” by Neal Stephenson or “Shantaram” by Gregory David Roberts, although I feel they are my new classics to return to. Daniel Zielowski’s “House of Leaves” with its interesting typographical play and layered meta-narratives is always ripe for re-reading and further exploraiton. Plus, the way that design elements flavor and support the story should appeal to you both.

    Hope that helps.

  4. Oh, I love questions like this that I can indulge in all day. I echo Mountains Beyond Mountains and Olive Kitteridge–two of my all-time favorites. I’d add The History of Love by Nicole Krauss, Bel Canto by Ann Patchett, Truth and Beauty (memoir) by Ann Patchett, all things Jhumpa Lahiri, Ex Libris (essays about books) by Anne Fadiman, The Spirit Catches You and You Fall Down (nonfiction by Fadiman), Plainsong by Ken Haruf, and Peace Like a River by Leif Enger. Oh, and just in case you decide to indulge the woman-traveling-alone genre: Tracks by Robyn Davidson about a journey across Australia with, wait for it: camels!

  5. Martha says:

    Kim, you know I always love the TB summer reading list. In fact, I just love reading summer reading lists! Reading a pretty fascinating book at the moment – about Mormon feminism of all things, The 19th Wife by David Ebershoff. Really intriguing. Over Christmas, I read Little Bee by Chris Cleave and I’m hooked on Stieg Larsson’s trilogy – Girl with The Dragon Tattoo & The Girl Who Played with Fire – they are like some kind of demonic drug for me. The last in the series comes out today, I think, not that I am waiting impatiently or anything. Also, my very, very favorite I’ve read in the last couple years – probably I’ve already mentioned it – The Book Thief by Marcus Zuszak (I’m pretty sure I’m spelling his name wrong) – fantastic book – very original writing – amazing book. Can’t wait to see your list!

  6. Claire says:

    I’d re:read the Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao (Diaz). In fact, I may do that this summer. And I recently re-read Rebecca (DuMaurier) and The Killer Angels (Shaara). Both held up beautifully. And for re:new? Well, I guess I’d go back to the book I re-read most often when I want to be inspired: West with the Night (Markham).

  7. Claire says:

    BTW: As soon as I finish “The Girl Who Kicked the Hornets Nest” (I too am hooked–I pre-ordered and it has been shipped) I will be diving into Sarah Waters “The Little Stranger” and then Abraham Verghese “Cutting for Stone.” I’m so excited about both of these novels, I can’t decide which to read first!

Leave a Reply

