no change, at least not yet (please)

Yesterday morning I wrote the post about my dad, aka Crafty Grandpa. A few hours later my brother called and said Dad had a heart attack and was in ICU. At the time, we didn’t know it was a heart attack, as there are a few other complications. I did know that I was so grateful that Doug was on a business trip from Texas and staying with Mom and Dad, and was able to call 911 and take care of Mom (I presume he did, though Mom is pretty darned competent herself).

Ironically, Dad’s symptoms are similar to Toby’s last week. That’s kind of funny.

I spent the morning trying to not imagine the worst, because I really, really am not ready to go there. Really. I know it may be selfish of us to have all four parents alive and engaged and active and adventurous. I know most of my friends don’t have any parents, and I am lucky (as are my kids) to have all of them with us for every holiday and special occasion. For stories, and meals, and vacations, and cuddling. And I know this is life, and things change, but I am not going to go there just yet.

Luckily, it appears that he isn’t ready to go there just yet either.

By the afternoon he was transferred to a room where he could watch his beloved Lakers game. That was a good sign.

Late afternoon Doug sent a photo titled “he still has his sense of humor.” Dad was in his hospital gown, with oxygen, peeing into a bottle, with the most mischievous grin.  I detected the familiar twinkle in his eye.  And while it was kind of gross in a TMI about your dad kind of way, it was funny and weirdly comforting. And it was funny imagining the three of them taking the photo, being naughty in the hospital.

We’re hoping Dad will get his angiogram today, and the diagnostics will tell us what’s next. I have my plane tickets and will be there soon. Just to see the twinkle in his eye, though I may ask him to keep his pee bottle to himself.

By the way, Toby is doing awesome. It’s been quite a week!

About kim tackett

Northern CA marketing consultant, writer of very small stories, and drinker of very strong coffee.
This entry was posted in Just Life. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to no change, at least not yet (please)

  1. happy says:

    prayers and good thoughts going your way.

  2. LisaF says:

    So relieved to read he is doing better. And, by extension, that you are too.

  3. elle says:

    My prayers are with all of you, Kim. I love reading your posts about your dad…he sounds like such an extraordinary man! xoxo

  4. leslye says:

    Sending love and hopes for a speedy recovery for your dad.

  5. and more good thoughts and love coming your way.

Leave a Reply

