ten years later, she enters the new age

So for the record, I didn’t do it for me. I did it for them. I don’t need to be MORE connected to the internet, or to have more distractions like Wordwarp at my fingertips. I don’t really, really need to know where every single Starbucks is, and I don’t have to have another camera, even one with an app that makes photos look like old Polaroids. And despite the fact that everyone else navigates their life by cell phone, I didn’t really feel like I was missing out. I don’t feel like I have to do two things at once, like walking and talking (yes, I know that there is a possibility that I might not be able to do that even if I tried). And I don’t really want people to be able to reach me anytime, anyplace.  My thoughts, they are confusing and entertaining enough to keep me company when I am alone.

But the fact that I was cell phone incompetent bugged the heck out of Steve and Alex. They hated that they would call me multiple times, and I would ignore them (I wasn’t ignoring them, my phone was turned off and at the bottom of a very crowded purse) and then hours later I would walk through the door to a chorus of  “Why do you even bother to carry a phone if you never use it, and we are out of whatever and seriously, how can you have three blogs and not know what your cell number is?”

So for them, I gave in. On Saturday I bought an iPhone.

The truth is, the iPhone is a thing of beauty and it’s intuitive. It makes sense, as only an Apple produce can.  I loaded a few apps, learned out to answer voicemail…and texted Alex at the Whole Earth Festival. And Kate in Canada. And then I took photos. And played Wordwarp. And checked the weather for the week. And my Facebook. And Ethiopian restaurants in Sacramento. And my Apple stock.  And every once in a while, the marimba alarm.

And even though  it’s clear I did it for them, I think it’s a worthwhile sacrifice. You know, to make them happy. And to make sure we always have plenty of whatever and marimbas.

About kim tackett

Northern CA marketing consultant, writer of very small stories, and drinker of very strong coffee.
This entry was posted in Just Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to ten years later, she enters the new age

  1. elle says:

    So tell me about the learning curve. Was it hard to figure out? I’ve had a BlackBerry forever, but I’m tempted to get an iPhone once they’re available on Verizon.

    • kimtb says:

      Elle, no learning curve at all. I was doing more in the store at the counter (while Alex was buying her new phone…not an iPhone and we were also bundling our tv, landline and internet) than I have done in a year on my old phone. Steve has one, so he could show me…but it was super intuitive. I have NO patience for any of this, which is weird, but I think I just demand that my communication is easy. Again, I only need to say one word… Marimbas.

      > New comment on your post “ten years later, she enters the new age” > Author : elle (IP: 24.23.60.187 , c-24-23-60-187.hsd1.ca.comcast.net) > E-mail : elle@mansfieldink.com > URL : http://mansfieldink.com > Whois : http://ws.arin.net/cgi-bin/whois.pl?queryinput=24.23.60.187

  2. kathleen says:

    I use an iPhone ap to tune my violin. I have recorded some frog sounds from the creek with it that I can play when overwhelmed and am thinking about getting something called a Mikey to enhance that ability. I text Robert at the end of the day. I like texting him. It adds a connection and is totally worth the monthly fee. I still cannot easily locate gas stations with it, but when he upgrades his iPhone we can get some ap that lets him locate my blue dot is and I will always be found in space and time.

  3. elle says:

    Thanks, Kim. Joseph plans to get one soon, because he’s writing iPhone apps and needs to test them. I think I’ll play with his and then get one of my own.

  4. Well, if you gave in, what hope is there for me? You were my holdout sista! That’s it, my next (OK, first) phone will be an iPhone. I can’t wait to hear what else you discover.

Leave a Reply

