any weekend is a good weekend

But some are just a tiny bit better than others. Like this one.

Steve and Dick rode the Santa Rosa Wine Country Century on Saturday, which meant they had to leave the house at 5:30 am, and then ride 100k (they chose the metric century, since it’s been about 8 years since they’ve done the other kind) before lunch. Gail and I took a different route and left at noon and drove over to meet them at a friend’s house, where we could greet them post-ride and post-shower. Dick and Gail are our dear friends and ex-next door neighbors. I have never quite forgiven them for moving to the other side of town. Gail claims they are only ten minutes away, but still, I can’t just go over in my pajamas anymore. We have lots of memories of our families together, lots to catch up on, and lots to laugh about.

We spent the afternoon wine tasting in the Russian River Valley….way fun. Though I think I horrified a few people by insisting on constant swirlies so I could take my photos (I think it’s supposed to be a gentle swirl, stop, sniff and sip…one motion).

And we also had to buy some wine. Don’t they look like two little kids?

And then we had to have dinner. In Sonoma. One the square. In a courtyard, with French music (live). And, ummm, wine.

Steve and Dick had some meat with their wine. I had strawberry shortcake with mine (I also had the asparagus risotto).

On Sunday Steve made a 7 am tee time, and I exercised my coffee and newspaper skills. We did our chores (some of them at least) and then enjoyed the UCD Alumni Softball Game (Alex’s coaches were in it, though Alex was busy coaching her 8u team). Oh, and I rented this place for three nights in June when Kate and Brendan are here. Try to not drool on your keyboard, ok?

And that was pretty much it. I think if you use your two days particularly well,  you should win a bonus day, don’t you?

About kim tackett

Northern CA marketing consultant, writer of very small stories, and drinker of very strong coffee.
This entry was posted in Just Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

