so that was a fast 22 minutes, I mean 22 years…

Oh Katy Faye, here it is again….another year, another birthday, another mushy blog post. Happy Birthday big girl. You’ve had an awesome year of learning and loving and leaping (or at least looking to leap) into the real world. Everyone thought you were a little crazy to choose Vancouver (“aren’t there colleges in California?”), but we all knew you were certain and probably right. You were exactly right…it’s big enough and beautiful enough for you. It has energy and excitement, just like you. And good coffee, which I must say, is one of the values I am most proud to have passed onto you.

You’re intense and funny and clever…and you still puzzle me a bit. You’re curious and creative, and bold enough to color outside the lines (always!). You have always had the strongest sense of self of anyone I know. Even as a child, you knew who you were, and what you needed to get to the next place.  I love how you make stuff, and how you make stuff happen. And I love the life you’re making for yourself.

Kate, I admire and appreciate you, and have loved, loved, loved being on this adventure with you.

But before we rush ahead, let’s just take a quick look back, shall we?

Happy Birthday, my love.

(Thanks to Brendan for current picture of Kate in her new cool glasses, and Grandma Jan for Kate in her original cool glasses…gosh I still remember that day.)

About kim tackett

Northern CA marketing consultant, writer of very small stories, and drinker of very strong coffee.
This entry was posted in Just Life. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to so that was a fast 22 minutes, I mean 22 years…

  1. andrea922 says:

    Happy Birthday Katy! I love the pictures!

  2. anniespickns says:

    I love the pic Grandma Jan submitted. Very cool!

  3. LisaF says:

    It’s mind boggling how fast the time goes by. I’m sure she still maintains her sense of fashion. 🙂 Happy birth-day…to you–Mom!

  4. Penny Hill says:

    It’s been 22 years already? Jeez. I remember when you were pregnant. And then when James and I came over to visit after she was born. “Hmmm, baby,” we mused, not having a clue what was appropriate! Happy Birthday, Kate! (But isn’t her birthday on Sunday?)

  5. Pingback: twenty six | tour of no regrets

Leave a Reply

