the sandwich that changed my life

Staying with the theme of everyday fun finds, here’s the chicken pesto sandwich that changed my life. Really. A friend made it for me 16 years ago when we both had babies and were home on maternity leave. She was a client from HP and said “there is this thing called the world wide web and you can go anywhere on your computer” and she showed me a chat room on AOL.

Anyway, here’s the deal. They’re easy (that is key), they keep (also key), they seem somewhat special (ok, I ‘fess up, also key). Everyone loves them. You can serve them cold, like for a ski lunch, on french rolls. But they are perfect hot, on ciabatta bread. A little fruit salad, or even cut up apples, and you have Thursday night dinner. Somehow cut up apples are always a good match up…both for ease and taste (yeah, I know I focus a bit too much on ease…but I learned long ago you could put a bag of carrots on the table and call it a salad).

The pictures don’t look all that appetizing, but I promise you, this rocks as a sandwich. And that’s my Friday gift to you.

Canned chicken, straight from Costco. This is two cans worth.

Pesto, parmesan cheese and mayo.

Glop it in. Measurements are irrelevant.

Mix.

We like any kind of french or sourdough bread, but this is perfect for winter. Tonight Steve said it had the right amount of air in it for the sandwich, which sounded weird, but he was exactly right. Bake it, or don’t bake it. But baked is good.

I’m telling you, this sandwich changed my life, and it can change yours too.

Happy Weekend.

This entry was posted in Just Life. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to the sandwich that changed my life

  1. kitchendoor says:

    THIS LOOKS DELICIOUS. Also I will make pretty much anything involving ciabatta bread, so. Bookmarked!

  2. Alice says:

    you just made me have carnal, impure thoughts.

    That stuff looks YUMMY!!

    • kimtb says:

      Alice, I’m telling you, you’ve gotta have a few tricks if you’re going to be a working mom (who values family dinnertime). This sandwich has never failed me, whether it’s a ski lunch for ten, or dinner for three, or a mom + kids play date. kim

      >

  3. Penny Hill says:

    The sandwich won’t stick in my memory – but Kim, I totally remember when you discovered AOL and CHAT. You gave it your normal low-key, divided attention. 😉

Leave a Reply

