olympic randomness

I love The Olympics. Love, love, love. But they make me wonder.

Like, did Bob Costas dye his hair? And why didn’t anyone tell him it wasn’t a good idea?

How would I react if my daughter wanted to be a luger? How long could I hold my breath until she had her moment and then was ready to move onto curling?

And wouldn’t curling be cool? Kate, can you do it for me, just so I can channel your coolness?

Unless you wanted to be a ski jumper. Or a biathlete. Those are cool too.

But they all make my quads hurt. Just watching them. Ouch. It’s the kind of pain that only  chocolate sorbet will heal.

This is from Steve: How did the graphic designer convince them to use all lower case letters for the word vancouver in the logo? His answer was that you could get away with it because there are no ascenders or descenders and the average person wouldn’t notice. I didn’t notice, but don’t tell him.

The women downhillers? Amazing. Those crashes? Even more amazing. We were yelling so much, we scared Alex. Heck , we scared ourselves.

The fake flesh tone fabric on men’s skating outfits is just weird. And creepy. And sparklies. They don’t need the sparklies, because they all have great hair. And they can skate. And spin.

Speaking of figure skating, dontcha miss the old scoring system? 5.8, 5.9, 6, 6, 6, 6, 6!!!!! And then Scott Hamilton (love him too) yells.

Aren’t you kind of excited when Canada wins a gold? Our family joke has been that Canadians are happy  being third at everything. But I have loved seeing them get the golds, and am secretly rooting for them to win in hockey. Please don’t tell anyone, it’s our internet secret.

How cute is  Apolo Ohno? And Shaun White? Bode Miller, not so sure…but those other two. Cute, cute, cute.

And under the category of “why didn’t I think of that sooner?”  I missed my chance to create a “What is your Olympic Athlete Persona” generator app. You know what I mean. They all have the coolest names. Even the ordinary names, like Lindsey Vonn, sound like they came from a script writer.

I pondered this, then I pondered what my Olympic persona should be. I am going to rebrand myself as Kat Vida, Olympic ski jumper. Yeah, that’s me…in my Olympic dreams. Hanging out with Apolo and Shaun, eating chocolate sorbet at the top of the luge run.

This entry was posted in Just Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to olympic randomness

  1. kitchendoor says:

    You forgot Celski! Celski is my Olympic Speed Skater Boyfriend.

  2. I did curling one season, and it was totally cool! OK, no, it was weird, but fun. Watching is a little painful though.

    Go for the gold, Kat!

Leave a Reply

