month one, done

I have survived 31 days of Project 365. Evidence here:

And yes, there are more than 31 photos. I started a day early and once did two. Reflections shortly, but first, a weekend report.

Alex had a weightlifting competition and not only had two PRs, but qualified for the National School Age Championships in June. This was a goal of hers, and one which I silently scuffawed (you know a scuffaw…a close relation to the scoff, but a little gentler, though still imbued with doubt).  She did it and it was the perfect ending to her birthday week.  Her meet in Sacramento was generously timed for Steve and I to have breakfast at Tower Cafe….love that place. I made a trek to Trader Joe’s in Fairfield (love TJs too). I won at Scrabble. We watched Whip It, which was very sweet and fun.  I bought new yarn, and started Lacuna by Barbara Kingsolver (love anything she writes…though Animal, Vegetable, Miracle went on a little too long). I also trashed yet another scarf by not knowing how to cast off (and subsequently practiced casting off like 6 times before I began a new one).

Oh, and I finished the first month of Project 365.  It’s hard, and silly, and cumbersome. I admit that it’s over the top, even for me. It adds stress to my life, which doesn’t exactly need any more stress. It also encourages me to go outside at 11 pm in my pajamas to look at the moon and take 72 pictures of it. And to be constantly looking at the sky, and the ground, and the ordinary parts of my life, to see if there is perhaps a picture there. And to ponder the difference between a good picture and a good moment, and take the chance that I might be able to capture it.  I felt successful, oh, about three times this month.  I have a lot to learn. So I am going back for February. It’s a shorter month, you know.

(Late-breaking news: I also participate in a Flickr group for Shutter Sisters, called One Word Project, where they pick one word each month, and you submit photos to their set. The Flickr set is for everyone, but the Shutter Sisters pick one photo a day to feature on their website. Look what they picked on Sunday..here!)

About kim tackett

Northern CA marketing consultant, writer of very small stories, and drinker of very strong coffee.
This entry was posted in Just Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to month one, done

  1. LisaF says:

    This is one of those “character-building” activities, isn’t it? The Flickr group looks really interesting. I may have to check that one out.

Leave a Reply

