the next new adventure

We have a career full of fleeting clever moments and some cool designs, accompanied by the comment, “that would look great on a t shirt.” Sometimes we design and print the shirts, and the cups, and the hats and the bookmarks and the sketchbooks and give them to everyone we know. But usually we move on, until the next idea shows up, and the conversation repeats itself.

So this year we were doing a New Year’s email promo, declaring 2010 as The Year To Get It Done. And Steve’s design was so cool that I said, “that would look great on a t shirt.”

And it does. It also looks great on a coffee mug, and a tote bag, and a mousepad. So we did it…we opened an online shop on zazzle.com. It’s called “what’s the big idea?” and it’s here. WTBI has been our go-to marketing sub-brand for the studio for years, and this was the perfect time and place to revive it.

We launched the shop today, and it’s pretty darned fun. We have a set of 2010 ideas, and a set called live. art. fully. which was actually inspired by a post I did last week. We’ve already sold four items! And more ideas and designs in the hopper.

Here’s the live.art.fully. design. I’m pretty sure the shop isn’t going to make me rich, but it’s a blast learning my way around this place. Some day the big one, you know THE REALLY, REALLY GREAT IDEA is going to show up, and I will be ready for it. In the meantime, it’s fun to have a place to put the simply clever ideas, and well, get stuff done.

Because, you know, there’s lots more to do. And I don’t spend enough time on the internet.

This entry was posted in Just Life. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to the next new adventure

  1. Grover says:

    I bought one to remind me this year to keep my emails answered. Just get it done.

  2. kitchendoor says:

    That looks awesome, Kim. Am totally going to check out the shop!

  3. LisaF says:

    I’ve not-so-subtly hinted to Entrepreneur that I want some live.art.fully totes for my birthday.

Leave a Reply

