retrofitting the mom with duct tape

First, a modest weekend report:

Two date nights (movies on Friday, It’s Complicated, which made us laugh really, really hard, and dinner on Saturday with friend, Dick and Gail), working on another new project, preparing for Alex’s 16th birthday (she’s throwing a dinner party, so we’re doing pre-party food testing), Sunday morning newspapers and a fire, lots of laundry, a Flickr account (clearly someone needs to take my computer away from me) and a new calendar. I spent more time in slippers than shoes, so it counts as a very good weekend.

And, the new calendar? Just one of five calendars I use. While others (ahem, Steve) can rely on an iPhone for an all-in-one collection of very important stuff, I am a multi-calendar gal.  Two for work…Moleskine for client meetings and the online TeuxDuex for my desktop. The purse calendar for hair appointment documentation and softball field future activity checking, the home wall calendar for birthday and big events (and art). And the most important–the home operations calendar. Meal planning, car pool days, sports practices, games and meets, tutoring, medical, charity pick up days…it’s all there on the counter. I have used the same calendar for years, and I can’t really function without it. The only problem is that it so doesn’t look like me:

NOT me. Retrofit required.

Ah, that’s better. Duct tape and my favorite Maori Mom postcard, plus some leftover stickers.

Steve wondered (with his outside voice, mind you) why I would document the family operations calendar retrofit process.”It’s JUST a calendar,” he had the nerve to say. I tried to explain that it was actually a representation of my creative and individual reconciliation with motherhood, acknowledging that I loved being a mom, but have a somewhat twisted and very personal spin on the entire experience.  He shook his head, and then he went back to cleaning out the garage.

Good Monday to you.

P.S. My friend John Antonelli has been working for 12 years on a film about singer Sam Cooke. It’s going to premier on PBS American Masters TONIGHT! I wrote about it on re:design. I am so proud of John, and really happy for him to have his work recognized this way.

This entry was posted in Just Life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to retrofitting the mom with duct tape

  1. anniespickns says:

    And I thought I was a calendar junkie. Not even compared to you. Thanks Kim.

Leave a Reply

