ikea hacks for the holidays

I was pretty proud of my IKEA hack projects this Christmas. I have wanted to glue slides to one of their lamps for years, and finally did it. We made three–one for Kate, of the people and places who inspired us when we were her age. I kept the cardboard carriers on hers, and wrote stories in Sharpie in the blank spaces.  For my folks I used slides of their Costa Rica trip, and took them out of their carriers, and I think it looked a little nicer, especially when the light was off. Steve went through family slides for his folks, so theirs included vacations, holidays and weddings. It’s really quite sweet.

Then Kate showed up and hacked the heck out of my hacks.

For Steve she made a clock out of an IKEA picture frame. It’s the history of art in 12 hours. And then she quizzed him. He passed, missing only one.

Then she made a set of lights out of frosted IKEA jars, and glued LED lights in the lid. She did a set of 4 or 5 of varying heights for “mom, don’t you dare blog that she made these for her boyfriend” B.  Some had notes in them (which she typed on her new/old typewriter). Some of them (including mine, below) have details from our favorite paintings in the lid.

And then she decided she really wanted to make B. a desk lamp. So we went back to IKEA and she decided on the planter box. Because you know, the kitchen strainer was so overdone, and the wok would be too much, and everyone does the holey silverware container.

So I am working on a plan to build next year’s Christmas tree out of an IKEA coat rack and use their Swedish meatballs as ornaments. It could totally work.

This entry was posted in Just Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to ikea hacks for the holidays

  1. andrea says:

    You guys are talented, I am impressed 🙂

    And no, I definitely don’t mind you linking to me!!

Leave a Reply

