Let’s call it a wrap, shall we?

This is one of those weeks where I never got my feet on the ground. I flew home Sunday night and neglected the rituals that make up my weekend– though I made a list of them, and intended to do them, I just didn’t.

I also didn’t unpack (though last night Steve wanted to put away my suitcase, and with my permission, dumped my clothes on the floor, and yes, they are still there, with the others). I didn’t clear out the debris around my chair (which included a laptop that wasn’t mine, which had the makings of an embroidery thread friendship bracelet duct taped to it, plus what seemed like about 20 newspaper rubber bands, and a pile of books and magazines that made my early morning coffee balancing act precarious…you get the idea). I also didn’t change the not-so-fresh flowers on the mantle, or put out the newspapers, or bleach the kitchen grout. Or water the plants. Or clean Toby’s food mat. Or put clean sheets on the bed. I barely made it grocery shopping, but it was without a list or a plan. I didn’t pluck, and I feel like Groucho Marx.  All small things, but somehow they make me feel centered for the week.

On top of that, Steve went back to the studio every night, so our evening rhythm was off, too. I also skipped exercise (I KNOW, I KNOW!), and evening tea.

I should have at least unpacked. Maybe that would have motivated me. But you know, those new pajamas were waiting.

I kept thinking about that John Lennon quote: Life is what happens when you are busy making other plans.

This weekend is going to be busy…two events for the U.S. Bicycling Hall of Fame (our new favorite client), a softball tournament.

And a few rituals snuck in between the moments.

Going to start by taking an extra few hours at home this morning. To get last week started right. And then, I can call it a wrap.

And start again. This time, with the clothes off the floor. And a pedicure.

Happy Friday everyone.

This entry was posted in Just Life. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Let’s call it a wrap, shall we?

  1. kitchendoor says:

    I so, so, SO know this feeling. My apartment is a disaster, and I keep meaning to get to it…I just have other crap that has to happen first. But it makes me feel weirdly fluttery and off-balance.

    Evening tea sounds like a really lovely ritual. What kind of tea?

    • kimtb says:

      Katie, I like the Comfort and Joy tea (Republic of Tea) with lots of milk and honey. This replaces my evening ritual of wine and/or ice cream. Or an ice cream-like product. It’s 9 am and I have already done a load of laundry, cleaned and dusted the living room, reclaimed my chair, plucked, cleaned the dog stuff and unpacked. Already better. Steve said this morning, “sometimes you have to slow down just to catch up with yourself.”. It’s not that I am a clean freak (far, far from it), but there are just things I need to do, to feel centered. I know it, so it puzzles me why I continue to try to take short cuts. Oh well!

  2. LisaF says:

    Sounds like you need a “Sunny Day Sweepin’ the clouds away. On my way to where the air is sweet . . . “

Leave a Reply

