India-A Day of Reflection

232323232fp53382vq3236968289wsnrcg323779823262vq0mrj.jpeg

I am home. I’ve had two days to organize my thoughts, my notes, my gifts and my laundry. I’ve shared my stories and tape recordings with my family. I have napped in the middle of the day, and I have been awake in the middle of the night.

The photo above was from Grover, and it was when the village outside of Patna was surrounding me in song. I believe it was the moment when I knew this village, as poor as they were, would make it. Somehow they would find their way to a better life for their children. I knew Freedom from Hunger’s (and Reach India’s) programs would make a difference here.

(Grover Thomas is Freedom from Hunger’s Chairman of the Board, and a pretty amazing guy. His personal blog is http://papistrip.blogspot.com. Take a look for more information on the programs, including his previous trip to visit our partner, CARD, in the Philippines.  He also describes the singing moment–above-in more detail. It was an honor and a delight to travel and learn from Grover.)

I have been dreaming of India for years. I believed I was an intrepid traveler. I have been to other developing countries. I have seen poverty. But somehow, I wasn’t prepared for the extreme, complex issues I saw face-to-face. This trip brought me to my knees, and it brought me to tears. And not just the graceful, quiet tears that show one has been touched. I had a hotel room sob-fest that had me questioning my relationship with God, my work and showed me just how much I still had to learn. Hello? I am 50..some of these issues should have been worked out by now!

I had a few professional stumbles here, as well. This was the trip where I would show what I was made of, and quite frankly, I came up a little short. I can now see what I would have done differently, if I had the clarity and confidence required to get past my moments of emotion. I am normally more forgiving of my own missteps, but this was a big trip to not be able to deliver all that I hoped to.

The trip did have joys, and more than one Tour of No Regrets moment. I loved how the goddess Saraswathi seemed to lead us on our travels. I loved attending the Arati, alone, in the Hare Krishna temple. I loved seeing Freedom from Hunger’s programs in action, and truly experiencing how women are changing their lives and the lives of their families and communities. I loved meeting and getting to know my colleagues in India, and especially connecting with Sarbari. I loved shopping. I Ioved the food.

And while I can’t add them to the “I loved” list, I do appreciate that I had the opportunity, and the profound gift to be able to sit knee-to-knee with Fula Devi, and be able to hear and feel her story. I appreciate the texture and complexity of Kolkata. And I appreciate the opportunities to practice humility. I was not sure why “practice humility” showed up as a New Year’s resolution for me this year, when “learn how to be a competent cell phone user” would have been more practical. But it did, and here I am.

So now it’s up to me. I have a path to walk. It’s not clean, clear or well-tended. In fact, it just got a little trickier. I have stumbled a bit, and it won’t be the last time either. But I am gathering the courage to keep walking, and to do my part to tend to the work. After all, I am not alone.

Thank you for coming with me on this journey. I appreciate your support, your notes and your prayers. I’m not sure what I will be doing with this blog, but check back in a month or so. I am guessing there will be another stop on the Tour of No Regrets.

Namaste,

Kim

About kim tackett

Northern CA marketing consultant, writer of very small stories, and drinker of very strong coffee.
This entry was posted in India. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to India-A Day of Reflection

  1. Pune Suite says:

    Beautiful article .It nice to hear good appreciation.Hope to hear more from you soon .

  2. We are just glad you are on the path.

  3. Les-a-lee says:

    Wow Kim, just wow. . . you make me want to go on your next trip with you.

Leave a Reply

